In the stillness

 there was a moment, between cleaning the kitchen and doing the laundry, that something took me by the hand and led me out into the sun.  Even in stillness, it’s easy to be overcome with all that’s right and wrong in our world.  But there is that space between the smile and the tears where magic happens.  It is where the buzz in your head is replaced by the mid-morning conferences of the bugs and the bees as they chat about the day.  The traffic in the distance loses its urgency and softens into a fading wave of melody.  The tiniest of breezes ever so gently tickle your skin.  I notice the warmth of a slow tear running down my cheek.  And then, the sun rushes in and the warmth dries my tear like a loving mom with a soft sleeve.  I can feel where it has dried on my face, but mostly what I feel is the warmth of the sun…in the stillness

5 thoughts on “In the stillness

  1. And now there is a tear running down my cheek. Thank-you for sharing your stillness, your heart and Mom’s loving touch!!! Love You!!

    Like

Leave a comment